Skip to main content

Table 1 Categories of Obesity and NICE Guidelines (5) on Surgery for Morbid Obesity*

From: Outcome of gastroplasty and gastric bypass in a single centre in the UK


BMI (kg/m2)







Obesity Class I


Obesity Class II


Obesity Class III


As Per NICE Guidelines, The individual


   • Must be aged 18 or over

   • Has to have been receiving treatment in a specialist obesity clinic as a hospital

   • Has tried all other appropriate non-surgical treatments to lose weight but have not been able to maintain weight loss

   • Has no specific medical or psychological reasons why they shouldn't have this type of surgery

   • Is generally fit enough to have an anaesthetic and surgery

   • Understands that they will need to be followed up by a doctor and other healthcare professionals such as dieticians or psychologists over the long term

  1. *Morbid Obesity = BMI >40 kg/m2
  2. = BMI 35-40 kg/m2 and significant disease that may be improved if weight loss is achieved (e.g. diabetes, hypertension)